Categorized | Cumberland Football

3 from Cumberland earn MSC honors

Posted on 19 November 2014 by Allen


Blake DeBoard, Justus Dauscha, Andrew Jernigan, Grant Jones and Mike Self were all voted First Team All-Mid-South Conference West and Cayman Russell earned Second Team honors, as announced by the league office Wednesday.

DeBoard gained 458 yards and four touchdowns on the ground this season, averaging 5.1 yards per carry in nine games. The Panama City, Fla., native rushed for 117 yards and two touchdowns versus Belhaven University and posted 118 yards at Union College this season. The senior also caught 12 passes for 128 yards and ended his career with 1,973 all-purpose yards, including 947 rushing, with six total touchdowns.

Dauscha registered 69 tackles with 16 tackles for loss and 9.5 sacks from his defensive end position, ranking eighth nationally in sacks and 19th in tackles for loss. The Murfreesboro, Tenn., native registered 10 tackles against the University of the Cumberlands and at the University of Pikeville and collected three sacks versus Pikeville. The sophomore added two sacks against Belhaven and Campbellsville University and posted six or more stops in seven of the 11 outings this season.

Jernigan led the Bulldogs in tackles for the second straight year, finishing with 99 stops along with eight tackles for loss and 3.5 sacks. The Eagleville, Tenn., native also registered three pass breakups, three quarterback hurries, one forced fumble and one blocked punt. The redshirt sophomore tallied double-digit tackles in five contests, including 15 in the season opener against the Cumberlands and 16 in the season finale versus Alderson Broaddus. He collected all of his sacks in the final three games as well.

Jones recorded 74 tackles with five pass breakups and a team-high six interceptions, which ranks sixth in the nation. The Chesnee, S.C., native played both corner back and safety during the year, collecting nine stops at UT Martin and double figures in each of the last three games, with 12 tackles at Bethel University and 10 apiece against Reinhardt University and Alderson Broaddus. The senior made two interceptions versus Belhaven and Bethel.

Self handled all of the kicking duties this season for the Bulldogs, connecting on 7-of-9 field goals with a long of 47 yards. The Lebanon, Tenn., native made 36-of-38 extra points and averaged 34.2 yards per punt with 16 downed inside the 20 and 17 fair catches. The redshirt junior ranked 26th nationally and fourth in the conference with 57 points.

Russell registered 76 tackles with 10.0 tackles for loss and 3.5 sacks from his defensive tackle spot, adding three blocked extra points, three quarterback hurries, two forced fumbles and two fumble recoveries. The Hendersonville, Tenn., native recorded 10 stops at Pikeville and blocked two extra points at Union College, helping the Bulldogs win in overtime. The redshirt junior also had eight tackles at Bethel and 10 stops versus Alderson Broaddus.

2014 First Team All-Mid-South Conference West Division
QB – Terrell Robinson, Faulkner Univ.
RB – Blake DeBoard, Cumberland Univ.
RB – Kadero Edley, Belhaven Univ.
RB – L.J. Stegall, Reinhardt Univ.
WR – Demytreus Gipson, Campbellsville Univ.
WR – Greg Livingston, Belhaven Univ.
SLOT – Trevon Chatman, Campbellsville Univ.
TE – Austin Cole, Reinhardt Univ.
OL – Jacob Carter, Faulkner Univ.
OL – John Ilaria, Bethel Univ.
OL – Rashawn McMath, Reinhardt Univ.
OL – Clay Swint, Reinhardt Univ.
OL – Andrew Vaughn, Campbellsville Univ.
K – Mike Self, Campbellsville Univ.
K – Will Ward, Campbellsville Univ.

DL – Justus Dauscha, Cumberland Univ.
DL – Stephon Tanga, Campbellsville Univ.
DL – Dekwain Tarrance, Campbellsville Univ.
DL – Eric Thompson, Faulkner Univ.
DL – Tony Threatt, Faulkner Univ.
LB – Daniel DeLeon, Campbellsville Univ.
LB – Mitchell Hoskins, Faulkner Univ.
LB – Andrew Jernigan, Cumberland Univ.
LB – Blake Young, Campbellsville Univ.
DB – James Gardner, Campbellsville Univ.
DB – Grant Jones, Cumberland Univ.
DB – Percy Minor, Campbellsville Univ.
DB – Marte Sears, Faulkner Univ.
RET – Stoney Burns, Bethel Univ.
P – Robby Phillips, Bethel Univ.

2014 Second Team All-Mid-South Conference West Division
OL – Joe Cannon, Reinhardt Univ.
OL – Blake Cordell, Campbellsville Univ.
OL – Arthur Doakes, Belhaven Univ.
OL – Elliott Graves, Faulkner Univ.
OL – Nick Lawson, Reinhardt Univ.
OL – B.J. Turner, Faulkner Univ.
QB – Jacob Russell, Campbellsville Univ.
RB – Niagel Curtis, Reinhardt Univ.
RB – Joe Jones, Faulkner Univ.
RB – A.J. Strong, Campbellsville Univ.
WR – Aaron Kennedy, Reinhardt Univ.
WR – Rob Lockhart, Faulkner Univ.
WR – Darien Thomas, Belhaven Univ.
SLOT – Gabe Chambers, Faulkner Univ.
SLOT – Devan Raymer, Bethel Univ.

DL – Hunter Oswald, Reinhardt Univ.
DL – Lenard Robinson, Reinhardt Univ.
DL – Cayman Russell, Cumberland Univ.
LB – Gregory Goree, Belhaven Univ.
LB – Steven Joiner, Belhaven Univ.
LB – Tyler Murray, Bethel Univ.
LB – AJ Thomas, Reinhardt Univ.
DB – Dushonta Broughton, Faulkner Univ.
DB – DJ Brown, Reinhardt Univ.
DB – Stoney Burns, Bethel Univ.
DB – Marcus Miller, Reinhardt Univ.
DB – Alvin Vaughn, Belhaven Univ.
RET – Gabe Chambers, Faulkner Univ.
P – Phillip Anderson, Faulkner Univ.

Mid-South Conference West Division Offensive Player of the Year: Terrell Robinson, Faulkner Univ.
Mid-South Conference West Division Defensive Player of the Year: Daniel DeLeon, Campbellsville Univ.
Mid-South Conference West Division Freshman Offensive Player of the Year: Joe Jones, Faulkner Univ.
Mid-South Conference West Division Freshman Defensive Player of the Year: Marcus Miller, Reinhardt Univ.
Mid-South Conference West Division Coach of the Year: Perry Thomas, Campbellsville Univ.

Leave a Reply

Advertise Here
Advertise Here


Temple 37 Vanderbilt 7 F
Alabama 33 West Virginia 23 F
Arkansas 21 Auburn 45 F
LSU 28 Wisconsin 24