Categorized | Auburn

Auburn’s Reese Dismukes Outland Trophy Finalist

Posted on 26 November 2014 by Allen


Auburn senior center Reese Dismukes is one of three finalists for the 2014 Outland Trophy, along with Texas defensive tackle Malcom Brown and Iowa offensive tackle Brandon Scherff, the Football Writers Association of America announced on Tuesday.

“I think that’s awesome,” said Dismukes of being a finalist. “I think that goes to show it’s not just me. Those are team awards. I couldn’t do it without the guys next to me, my coaches and all these players pushing me and me pushing those guys every day.

“Right now, we have to beat Alabama. We have to do whatever we can do today at practice to get better.”

Dismukes, the mainstay of the offensive line as well as team captain the last two seasons, has started 48 games over four seasons, the third-most starts in Auburn history. The 6-foot-3, 295-pound product of Spanish Fort, Ala., is considered the glue of the offensive line that grinds out yards in a triple-option attack during this 8-3 season. Auburn’s rushing offense ranks No. 8 in the country (266.2 yards per game), No. 22 in total offense (476.4 yards per game) and 28th in scoring (35.1 points per game).

“Our center is like another quarterback,” said head coach Gus Malzahn. “He makes all the calls up front. Everything is on him, especially when you go pace. The center directs everything. He’s a very good athlete. He’s a tough guy. He’s been one of our leaders around here for a long time.”

Auburn has had two previous Outland Trophy winners: guard Zeke Smith (1959) and defensive tackle Tracy Rocker (1988).

The winner of the 69th Outland Trophy will be revealed on ESPN during The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, December 11, from the Atlantic Dance Hall at Disney’s BoardWalk at the Walt Disney World Resort. Awarded to the top interior lineman on offense or defense since 1946 by the Football Writers Association of America, the Outland Trophy is named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Pennsylvania. It is the third-oldest player award in major college football behind the Heisman Trophy and Maxwell Award.

For the 18th consecutive year, the presentation banquet of the Outland Trophy will occur in Omaha on January 15, 2015, at a banquet sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee. The inaugural Tom Osborne Legacy Award will also be presented at the dinner. Learn more about the Outland Trophy at

Leave a Reply

Advertise Here
Advertise Here


Temple 37 Vanderbilt 7 F
Alabama 33 West Virginia 23 F
Arkansas 21 Auburn 45 F
LSU 28 Wisconsin 24