Categorized | MTSU Football

MTSU names permanent captains

Posted on 05 December 2014 by Allen

Head coach Rick Stockstill

Middle Tennessee Head Coach Rick Stockstill announced today permanent captains for the Blue Raiders in 2014. Offensive tackle Isaiah Anderson, running back Reggie Whatley, defensive end Shubert Bastien, and linebacker Leighton Gasque were honored as the ninth group of permanent captains in the FBS era at Middle Tennessee.

The team voted on the four captains and Coach Stockstill made the announcement during a recent team meeting.

“This is the ultimate honor when your teammates make you a permanent captain for the season,” said Stockstill. “These four guys have meant a lot to this program and all are very deserving. It’s not just your play on the field but the way you conduct yourself off the field and how you lead and push your teammates. When your peers give you a vote for the way you practice every day and compete on the field and in the classroom there is not a better honor out there.”

Permanent Captains:
2006: Eugene Gross, Jonathan Harris, Clint Marks, Justin Rainey
2007: Tavares Jones, DeMarco McNair, Bradley Robinson, Erik Walden
2008: Joe Craddock, Wes Hofacker, Ivon Hickmon, Trevor Jenkins
2009: Danny Carmichael, Desmond Gee, Patrick Honeycutt, Brandon Perry, Alex Suber
2010: Mark Fisher, Jeremy Kellem, Dwight Smith, Phillip Tanner
2011: Marquise Branton, Colin Boss, Derrick Crumpton, Arness Ikner
2012: Anthony Amos, Benny Cunningham, Micah James, Omar McLendon, Jeff Murphy
2013: Craig Allen, Logan Kilgore, Jimmy Staten, Josh Walker
2014: Isaiah Anderson, Reggie Whatley, Shubert Bastien, Leighton Gasque

Leave a Reply

Advertise Here
Advertise Here


Temple 37 Vanderbilt 7 F
Alabama 33 West Virginia 23 F
Arkansas 21 Auburn 45 F
LSU 28 Wisconsin 24