Categorized | Mississippi State

Nine Bulldogs to play in All-Star Games

Posted on 17 January 2015 by Allen

miss st

A school-record nine Mississippi State football seniors from this past season will have participated in a total five different college football all-star games by the end of this month.

The trio of All-America defensive end Preston Smith, center Dillon Day and defensive tackle Kaleb Eulls will participate in the 2015 Reese’s Senior Bowl at Ladd-Peebles Stadium in Mobile, Ala. The three Bulldogs in the game are the most since the 2011 game, which featured a quartet of NFL Bulldogs (Pernell McPhee, Derek Sherrod, Chris White, K.J. Wright)

Practices in the week leading up to the game are attended by over 800 NFL employees from all 32 NFL teams, including general managers, head coaches, assistant coaches, scouts and other front office personnel. The NFL Network will televise the game live on Saturday, Jan. 24, at 3 p.m. CT.

Day will join All-America guard Ben Beckwith at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg, Fla., on Saturday, Jan. 17, for the 90th annual East-West Shrine game. Since 1925, the game has established itself as the longest-running college football all-star game. Kickoff is scheduled for 3 p.m. CT and will be broadcast live on the NFL Network. In addition, fans can listen to the game live on SiriusXM (Channel 88).

Wide receiver Jameon Lewis will partake in the College Gridiron Showcase All-Star Game, to be played Jan. 31 at Maverick Stadium on the campus of the University of Texas at Arlington.

On Jan. 19, tight end Christian Holmes and wide receiver Robert Johnson will battle in the USA Football Bowl. The game will be played at Newell Football Stadium in Jackson, Miss.

This past Saturday, left tackle Blaine Clausell and defensive back Jamerson Love played in the Medal of Honor Bowl. The contest, in its second year, aired nationally on NBC Sports from Johnson Hagwood Stadium on the campus of The Citadel in Charleston, S.C.

Leave a Reply

Advertise Here
Advertise Here


Temple 37 Vanderbilt 7 F
Alabama 33 West Virginia 23 F
Arkansas 21 Auburn 45 F
LSU 28 Wisconsin 24