Categorized | Belmont

Bradshaw named Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Posted on 18 April 2015 by Allen


Belmont University men’s basketball junior Craig Bradshaw (Ridgetop, Tenn.) has been named 2014-15 Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association (DI-AAA ADA) Men’s Basketball Scholar-Athlete of the Year, the organization announced Friday.

For Bradshaw, this comes as the latest in a long line of prestigious athletic and academic honors this season.

The 6-3 guard was named Capital One Academic All-America and Academic All-District and is on pace to earn placement on the OVC Commissioner’s Honor Roll for a third consecutive season.

On the court, Bradshaw established himself as one of the top perimeter players in the nation.

The Ridgetop, Tenn. native ranked among NCAA leaders in scoring, three-point field goals per game, effective field goal percentage, and steals per game. Bradshaw also ranked among OVC leaders in eight statistical categories, including third in points per game (18.3).

In addition, Bradshaw averaged 21.4 points per game over his final seven games, including an electrifying game-high 25 points in the Bruins’ NCAA Tournament near-miss against ACC Champion Virginia.

He scored 99 points in Bruin victories over Lipscomb, Denver and Ohio – including a Belmont NCAA era single-game record 42-point performance at the Bobcats that yielded multiple National Player of the Week honors.

Bradshaw has scored 1,172 points in his first three collegiate seasons, and was a Lou Henson Award Watch List honoree.

This marks the 10th time a Belmont men’s basketball player has been named to the DI-AAA ADA Men’s Basketball Scholar-Athlete Team in the program’s 14-year history.

This is the fourth time a Bruin has been named Scholar-Athlete of the Year; Bradshaw joins Justin Hare (2008), Mick Hedgepeth (2011), and Adam Mark (2004).

Basketball players from all Division I-AAA ADA member institutions are eligible for these prestigious awards. Each of the nominees was required to have a minimum grade point average of 3.20 (on a 4.00 scale) in undergraduate study and have been a starter or important reserve with legitimate athletics credentials.

He must have reached junior athletics and academic standing at the nominated institution (true freshmen, red-shirt freshmen and ineligible athletics transfers are not eligible) and have completed at least three academic semesters/five quarters at the nominated institution. Nominated student-athletes must have participated in at least 50 percent of the team’s games listed on the nomination form.

A special Review Committee of Division I-AAA athletics directors were responsible for selecting the winners. Completing this task were Committee Chair Tim Hall; Amanda Braun, Wisconsin-Milwaukee; Don DiJulia, St. Joseph’s; Gene Doris, Fairfield; Bill Hogan, Seattle; Bill Husak, Loyola Marymount; Phillip Hutcheson, Lipscomb; Chris King, UTPA; and Jean Lenti Ponsetto, DePaul.

Leave a Reply

Advertise Here
Advertise Here


Temple 37 Vanderbilt 7 F
Alabama 33 West Virginia 23 F
Arkansas 21 Auburn 45 F
LSU 28 Wisconsin 24