Three new bowl games to debut after 2015 College Football Season

Posted on 06 May 2015 by Allen

MTSU logo

Do you love college football? If so, you are in luck. The NCAA has approved three new bowl games. The Cure Bowl, Austin Bowl, and Arizona Bowl will all feature teams outside the “Power Five Conferences” next year. The only local team that could eventually play in one of these games is Western Kentucky or MTSU who play in Conference USA.

The Cure Bowl will be held in Orlando on Dec. 19, 2015. With the Cure Bowl Orlando is home to three bowl games. The game will draw attention to cancer awareness and feature teams from the American Athletic and Sun Belt conference. The Cure Bowl will air on the CBS Sports Network.

The Austin Bowl, which will probably get renamed will host American Athletic and Sun Belt conference teams in Austin, Texas. The date is not yet known and it’s thought that the game will not air on ESPN, but another network like NBC Sports or Fox Sports 1.

The Arizona Bowl, or Tucson Bowl will be held on Dec. 29th. The game will feature Conference USA and Mountain West teams. If a Conference USA or Mountain West school do not have enough teams eligible the Mid-American Conference will be considered for a team to fill-in. Arizona will host four postseason games next year with the addition of the Arizona Bowl (Fiesta Bowl, Cactus Bowl, College Football Playoff Championship).

Last season 5 new bowl games were added. Many believe the bowl games are getting watered down with 42 games being held. But if you are a college football fan more football is a good thing. But it is hard to get excited for two 6-6 programs playing each other that you haven’t really heard of.

Leave a Reply

Advertise Here
Advertise Here


Temple 37 Vanderbilt 7 F
Alabama 33 West Virginia 23 F
Arkansas 21 Auburn 45 F
LSU 28 Wisconsin 24