Categorized | UT Martin Football

Favre selected for 2015 U.S. Men’s National Team

Posted on 03 June 2015 by Allen


Former University of Tennessee at Martin quarterback Dylan Favre has been selected as one of 45 United States football players to be selected to play on the 2015 U.S. Men’s National Team, assembled by USA Football.

The team will compete in the fifth International Federation of American Football World Championship, a seven-nation tournament held July 9-18 in Canton, Ohio. IFAF works with 78 countries – spanning six continents – which possess national federations dedicated solely to American football.

A native of Kiln, Miss., Favre joins the roster after finishing a two-year career under center for the Skyhawks. A former Ohio Valley Conference All-Newcomer, Favre used both his arm and legs to move the Skyhawk offense, notching 276 career rushing yards along with a pair of rushing touchdowns while through the air he accumulated 1,746 yards and 15 passing touchdowns. He led the OVC while ranking second in the nation in completion percentage as a junior, converting 71.1 percent of attempts.

The U.S. Men’s National Team includes athletes from 24 states and will compete in a field against national teams from Australia, Brazil, France, Japan, Mexico and South Korea. The IFAF World Championship has been held every four years since 1999. In 2011, the United States defeated Canada, 50-7, for the gold medal in Vienna, Austria. The U.S. beat Japan, 23-20, in double overtime in Kawasaki, Japan, to win the 2007 tournament, the first that included a team from the United States.

The U.S. Men’s National Team is led by former Boise State and Colorado head football coach Dan Hawkins. Hawkins was 53-11 at Boise State from 2001-05, winning four consecutive Western Athletic Conference titles. His teams compiled a 31-game WAC winning streak, the longest in conference history. His five seasons at Colorado (2006-10) included a win over No. 3 Oklahoma in 2007, the same year he led the Buffaloes to the Independence Bowl.

The International Olympic Committee (IOC) granted IFAF provisional recognition in December 2013. Provisional recognition is the initial step toward permanent IOC membership, which IFAF could attain as early as 2016. IFAF’s permanent IOC membership would make American football eligible for a future vote to become part of the Summer Olympics lineup.

All games will be played at Tom Benson Hall of Fame Stadium and available via live stream or ESPN3. Matchups are July 9, 12 and 15 with consolation games and the medal round on Saturday, July 18. Kickoffs are noon, 3:30 p.m. and 7 p.m. on July 9, 12, 15 and 18 to determine gold, silver and bronze medal winners.

Leave a Reply

Advertise Here
Advertise Here


Temple 37 Vanderbilt 7 F
Alabama 33 West Virginia 23 F
Arkansas 21 Auburn 45 F
LSU 28 Wisconsin 24